Standard licenses are used for person and recreational purposes, though special licenses will allow motorists to drive for a living. The test will consist of 35 multiple-choice questions and will address such concepts as traffic laws, safe driving practices and driving under the influence of alcohol. To learn how to replace a lost, stolen, or damaged driver's license in Iowa, please read our page about. Every five years licensed Iowa drivers must renew their license if they wish to continue driving. We do not accept checks, money orders, or cashier checks.
New Iowa Drivers License Which license is for you? You must drive supervised by an adult for all other reasons. Save a Life: Become an Organ Donor Did you know a single organ donor could save up to 8 lives? The County Auditor delivers tax lists of the various districts to the Treasurer at the beginning of each fiscal year. You may even renew it up to a year prior to expiration, but then you will have to explain your reasons. Marion County is required by Iowa law to purchase the delinquencies if there is no private sector bidder. If you are above 70 or below 18 years of age you are only issued a two year license. If your state has this option, it will usually require you to meet certain eligibility criteria before you can go forward with submitting your renewal application via mail. There are thousands of businesses throughout Iowa and the United States, including restaurants, hotels and even home improvement stores that give discounts to veterans.
This extension cannot exceed 6 months in length. Temporary extension for military personnel An extension of operating privileges may be given to military personnel who cannot return to Iowa to renew their driver's license in person and do not meet eligibility requirements to renew online. How can I pay for my driver license? Real Estate Division To collect taxes certified for all real estate, mobile homes, special assessments, utilities, Process Iowa Property Tax Credit Claims for senior citizens or disabled persons, Pursue collection of tax liens by ordinary lawsuit or by proceeding to the taking of the tax sale deed, Prepare for publishing a newspaper notice of tax sale, Conduct annual and adjourned tax sales, Send notice of delinquent taxes to taxpayers with outstanding taxes as of November 1, Send notice of annual tax sale no later than May 1, Process tax sale redemptions. Scott 2950 Learning Campus Dr. Driving is a right, not a priviledge. Call ahead for business hours since smaller locations may not be open Monday through Friday.
Documents Required Documentation showing your identity, residential address, full social security number, and U. You might also need to retake these tests if your physical condition has been worsened due to illness. In addition to the application, under 18 drivers must also bring a written parental consent form. Box 515 Courthouse Knoxville Iowa 50138 Property Tax 8:00 am — 4:30 pm Open through lunch hours Motor Vehicle 8:00 am — 4:30 pm Open through lunch hours Knoxville: Renewals 8:00 am — 4:00 pm Written Test 8:00 am — 3:30 pm except 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month Driving Test Tuesdays only, by appointment Pella: Renewals 9:00 am — 4:00 pm 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month St. For more information on instruction permits and school licenses, see Click for more information from the state of Iowa. Because many drivers are typically unsure of which forms to fill out in order to complete their transactions, delays are common when applying in person.
Further, once a Certificate of Purchase at Tax Sale has been issued to the County, the Treasurer has the authority to bring an ordinary suit at law for the collection of taxes. Temporary extension If you are temporarily out of state, are unable to renew your driver's license in person and do not meet eligibility to renew online, you may apply for a temporary extension not to exceed six months. What is the cost to renew my license? You must bring a licensed driver with you and they should remain at the testing site in case you do not pass the test. Polk 801 University Ave 3 Johnson 123 S. This includes a social security card or approved alternative. How long do I have to renew my driver license? Expired License Your drivers license expires on your birthday. It is important to note that this method includes processing times, so it may take longer than others to complete.
During an online license renewal, you will be asked to identify yourself and pay the applicable service fees. The same requirements must be met — active duty and honorable discharge. The Treasurer is responsible for the proper receipt, accounting and disbursement of county funds within proper policies established by the State of Iowa, Marion County Board of Supervisors and corporate and unincorporated taxing entities for adequate financial control. Please and fill out form before you arrive. You'll need to make sure you renew on time, as you may be required to re-take the written and driving tests if your driver's license goes beyond the expiration date. However, certain motorists may be required to pass knowledge and driving exams.
Take a driving test if your license has been expired for more than 1 year or was suspended. It usually expires five 5 years from the year in which it was issued. Once you turn 18, you can obtain a full license without meeting the requirements above. However, it is important to note that this service is not offered to all motorists. Minors have several stages they must complete in the process in order to reach a full personal license.
To learn more about these options, read the sections below. Otherwise, you will be required to retake both a written and a drive test to get a new license. Drivers will receive an electronic notification thirty days before expiration that it is time to renew, and the email will also include renewal instructions. You can further research suspended licenses for additional information. Practice tests available on are also provided that address commonly found questions similar to what you may experience while testing. Box 9204 Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204 Telephone: 515-244-8725 Fax: 515-239-1837 Renewal for drivers who are temporarily Out of State If you are a resident of the state of Iowa and you are currently temporarily out of state, you may apply or a temporary extension of a maximum of six 6 months from the expiration date on your drivers license. This extension is valid for five years from the expiration date of the license.
Overall, licenses issued in the state are typically valid for a period between five and eight years. Monday through Friday, from 7:30a. When your driver's license is near its expiration date, you'll need to renew it. You can also prepare ahead of time, and apply for renewal 30 days before its expiration date. In most states, you can renew your drivers license online, by mail or in person. If you are out of state when you need to renew your Iowa driver's license you can apply for an extension that will be valid for 6 months.
Motor Vehicle Division License, title, collect use tax and motor vehicle registrations in Marion County, Issue duplicate, salvage, in lieu and in transit titles, Record and release security interests, Issue junking certificates for vehicles that are dismantled or no longer operable, Prepare reports for the Iowa Department of Transportation, Process refund claim forms, Issue special license plates, Work with Department of Transportation Investigators, Process uncollected parking tickets for cities of Marion County. In it, you will also get step-by-step details about how to complete other important licensing transactions, such as replacing your license or updating your name or address. In any case, in order to request these extensions, residents must complete a drivers license renewal form. Iowa law also provides for an extension to dependents of active military personnel. He or she will not be able to stay in the vehicle when you are taking the driving test, though. A suspended or revoked driving credential cannot be renewed.