Once they are complete, go to your local field office. Processing fees are applied to all online transactions. If that sounds complicated, your license renewal notice will tell you whether you qualify to renew by phone, online or by mail. Drivers younger than 21 will have their license expire on their twenty first 21st birthday. If you have not received your license in over 3 weeks, you can call the Michigan Secretary of State at 888 -767-6424 or by clicking. For general information, read the.
You can pay with your Department of State account if you have one. At the first renewal after age 40, a vision test is required, then at every second renewal until age 62. Note: These documents must be original or certified. All you have to do is bring your current license or another form of identification and your social security number, take a vision exam and a photo, and pay the Michigan drivers license renewal fee. Before obtaining your new license, you will need to take an updated photo. Michigan Drivers License Renewal Fees How much does it cost to renew drivers licenses for state residents? Additionally, applicants must take a license renewal vision test to be approved for a renewed permit. When you renew online, all you have to do is fill out some basic information, such as eye color and date of birth, and pay the renewal fee.
Furthermore, the Department of State provides a complimentary renewal notice 45 days before the official license expiration date. It must be a valid verifiable Social Security Number, and the name and birth date must be the same one as your documents for proof of Age and Identity. For more information: What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license? It is to the discretion of the Michigan Department of State whether or not your drivers license replacement fee is waived. You will receive the record at the address on file with the Secretary of State. Requirements for Out of State Renewal by Mail If you are a resident of the state of Michigan and you are currently outside of the state, you may apply for a no cost temporary extension permitvia mail.
By mail typically only to residents who are temporarily out of state, or for a medical reason. If you are an out-of-state resident moving to the state of Michigan, you need to pass a vision test and meet physical standards. Additionally, according to drivers license renewal requirements, licenses may not be expired for over 4 years for mail-in renewal to be valid. In the event that you have a lost drivers license or a stolen drivers license, visit your nearest police station to complete a report. For more information: What address will my replacement license be mailed to? A vision test is required, and a reaction test may be necessary starting at age 70 or at the nearest renewal date thereafter. If you are currently stationed outside of Michigan, you have the option of requesting a drivers license replacement either online or by mail.
Lost, Stolen, or Damaged Driver's License If your Michigan drivers license is lost, stolen , or damaged, you can still renew it as long as you know your driver's license number. In order to reinstate suspendeddrivers licenses, you first need to adhere to the rules set forth in your suspension period. If you processed your request online, bring a copy of the transaction receipt with you. Renewal is every 2 years for those 85 and older. If you want it mailed to a different address, indicate this in sections 1 and 5 on the order form. Depending on your age and your driving experience, this process could take a few years.
However, beginning January 1, 2009, a vision test will be required for all renewals. You can retake the test again in 1 day. Therefore, if your last renewal was completed online or by mail, you will need to make an in-person visit for your next renewal procedure. There are 50 questions on the test. Check with your local to learn more. Simply follow the instructions on the document and add your new address in the space provided.
You will need to take your written test at a Secretary of State office in your area. For more information: Where can I get a new drivers license? It is important to note that this method includes processing times, so it may take longer than others to complete. The Michigan Secretary of State sends a renewal notice 45 days before the renewal is due. Consider using the online services if you want to save time. For more information: Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal? To renew your license in person, visit your local Michigan Secretary of State. Veterans' licenses are valid until age 65.
If you are under 21 years of age, you may only drive within the state. No renewal by mail after age 69. There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test. For more information, please see our page on. How many questions are on the test? When taking your drivers test, it will be necessary to show proof of , and a valid license plate for the vehicle you are using. Because many drivers are typically unsure of which forms to fill out in order to complete their transactions, delays are common when applying in person.